The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old August 14, 2017, 04:34 PM   #1
ARqueen15

AR15 Issues and Question

Edit....struggling to post an image here, apparently I can't simply upload one from my computer and instead have to post it at an online host. SOLVED. Should be attached now.

I just picked up what was a promising and fairly priced Savage MSR-15 Patrol...basically a Savage M4-clone. I bought it online and picked it up at my FFL without incident.

The barrel looks to have a heavier profile than normal which I imagine could bode well for accuracy while the furniture is all blackhawk which i'm enjoying considerably less. Small matters those all the same.

The real problem is the trigger completely locked up on me after less than 10 rounds. Now I was using Federal 55 grain FMJ brass, from factory and not reloaded or steel cased bargain basement stuff.

I'm no expert and don't pretend to be one online but tried to go over the things I know of these rifles...I checked the magazine, tried a different magazine, different ammo, the safety, the bolt, bolt carrier grip, cam pin, firing pin, and though things were a bit tight, everything was fine. A friendly person nearby noticed the trigger and hammer pins had walked (or slid out of the receiver slightly). Pushing them back in solved the problem but I'm rather concerned of why this happened in the first place.

Digging around online seems to suggest either the lower is out of spec (the holes for the pins perhaps being too big and what not) or perhaps more likely the springs in the lower were incorrectly installed (backwards probably). I'm disappointed as this is my first Savage gun and let's say our relationship isn't off to a good start.

I want to include a picture of my lower to give you all something to reference . Judging from the photos as well as my hammer being very, very light and easy to pull back I'm going to say the hammer spring is on backwards.