The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 13, 2015, 04:15 PM   #1
slowhanddll

Pietta 1851 Colt Navy , brass frame Barrel Pins.

I am a noob here. I have been searching the threads and google for info on how to replace one of these pins. I see a couple things about if they are loose, but what if it is broken off, with the stub still in the brass frame, slightly recessed in the hole ?
A local gunsmith would not touch it, saying the brass is soft and the bit would wander and damage the frame, and that it is safe to shoot with one pin. I don't think he wanted to bother with it.
ideas ? Just drill slowly and carefully ?
I ordered a new pair of pins from Cimarron two weeks ago and was told they would ship ' soon '.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

David

Last edited by slowhanddll; November 13, 2015 at 04:15 PM. Reason: Topic
Old November 13, 2015, 05:19 PM   #2
Doc Hoy

Slowhand

In situations like this, photos would be helpful.

Having said that your explanation is good.

You can carefully drill these things out but the emphasis is on carefully

It is surprising that a gunsmith does not feel confident in his ability to take the pin out.

Start with a bit that is much smaller than the pin and gradually work your way up to the largest drill you can use without getting into the brass.

Here is where the care comes in:

1. It is imperative that you keep the first hole in the center of the broken pin. This will be hard to do but you don't want the bit wandering into the brass frame.

2. It is very likely that the first hole will not be perfectly centered which means that a bit that is exactly the same diameter as that of the pin will bite into the frame.

So you need to watch very carefully what you are doing.