The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 15, 2011, 01:14 AM   #1
awbrock

22-250 Shoulder Bump or just neck size?

I'm in the process of reloading my first batch of 22-250's. Should I bump the shoulder back 0.001" - 0.002" or just neck size the fire formed brass?

The next question is: can I bump the shoulder back with a Hornady Full Length Sizing die without resizing all dimensions of the brass?

I have taken the headspace measurements and used the modified case to accuire the OAL of my chamber to the bullets ogive. I'm a novice when it comes to these operations.

My first try in my 30-06 ended with a stuck bullet and a chamber full of powder. I went for what I thought was 0.010" back from the lands, it has been a while since the initial failure, I corrected by backing off 0.015" more. Is 0.025" playing it too safe?

I can't remember how far I bumped the shoulder back on the 30-06 or if I did at all.

Thanks,
AWB
Old January 15, 2011, 09:11 AM   #2
highvel

I just neck size for mine and never had any issues .
For checking the O.A.L. I use a small rod and two drill collars to measure, there was a post a few months ago on how to do it; it's very simple and easy!
Once I found the load then the OAL, my gun liked; it shot like a different gun.

"I have opinions of my own 'strong opinions' but I don't always agree with them."--George Bush
Old January 15, 2011, 09:37 AM   #3
wncchester

"Should I bump the shoulder back 0.001" - 0.002"

There is never a need to "bump" a shoulder back for a bolt rifle, the case has already shrunk back a thou or more from fired length. Just restore and maintain the fired shoulder location. You are likely to find trying to bump with a consistant accuracy of 1-2 thou to be virtually impossible anyway, just make sure the longest resized length doesn't exceed the fired length.

"or (should I) just neck size the fire formed brass?"