The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 12, 2009, 11:24 AM   #1
tpcollins

? on Lee Neck Sizing die initial setup

I returned my 2 piece RCBS .243 dies in favor of the Lee 3 piece set with an additional neck sizing die. To neck size only with the RCBS FL, I was to screw the die in until it hit the shell holder and then back it out one turn.

The instructions for the Lee Neck Sizer says to touch the shell holder plus one turn more for Lee presses only. All other presses (I have the Rockchucker Supreme) it says to touch the shell holder and then screw in TWO more full turns to prevent the press from cam over. It says this allows you to "feel" the neck being sized. As a newbie, I'd rather have the press's ram stop on it's own rather than being able to continue to force the neck further up the die if I apply too much pressure. This seems bass-ackwards but I'll do it if that's the recommended way. Just wondering if all Lee owners really do it this way if they don't have a Lee press? Thanks.
Old March 12, 2009, 01:08 PM   #2
Alleykat

Doesn't make sense that you'd turn the die two full turns, after contact with the shell holder, in order to PREVENT cam-over. I've used Lee Collet dies on Lee presses, as well as a Rockchucker and my Dillon 650. You can feel the neck's being sized. I had to set my Rockchucker so that it would "cam over" a bit, but you still keep pulling the handle down until it stops.
Old March 12, 2009, 01:47 PM   #3
mkl

For some strange reason, Lee doesn't like "cam over."

I've reloaded for over 30 years on my RCBS Jr. and found the cam over was just fine, in fact I liked it since I knew that's exactly where the ram was at maximum extension.

I bought a Lee Classic Cast about a year ago, and found it has stops built into the linkage to specifically prevent cam over. Don't have a clue as to why.