The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 1, 2018, 05:43 AM   #1
Cavitation

Anyone else hate RCBS DIES

Does anyone despise RCBS dies as much as I do?

I hate there roll crimp
I hate there adjustments
I have them in 308,30/30,444M,35Rem, and they all suck.

How do you feel about them
Old January 1, 2018, 06:38 AM   #2
BBarn

I don't despise any brand of dies. And overall I personally prefer RCBS handgun die sets over those offered by Lee and Hornady.

I prefer the RCBS roll crimp.

The RCBS adjustments are OK though I don't care much for the ones with 1/4-20 threads and a blade screwdriver slot.

I have six sets, all handgun calibers.

Last edited by BBarn; January 1, 2018 at 06:44 AM.
Old January 1, 2018, 06:43 AM   #3
Old Stony

Hate is a pretty tough way to address RCBS. I've been using their dies for probably 50 years, along with a few other brands along the way. Anytime I had a minor problem, they were very receptive and did their best to keep me going.
I would suspect maybe you might have a little problem with die adjustment, brass trimming, or something along that line that is giving you problems.
Old January 1, 2018, 07:35 AM   #4
Cavitation

I have not used these dies in years. Any new caliber I have are lee dies. I will admit these were used when I was new to the hobby. I started with the 35 rem in a marlin 336. While I ended up with some outstanding loads I fought with them and ruined a ton of brass trying to get a visible crimp for the lever action. A lee factory was the solution. The 450 marlin was next with a slightly better learning curve with a straight walled case. I still use the 308 dies with a lee factory as well.
Old January 1, 2018, 08:19 AM   #5
NoSecondBest