The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 15, 2010, 09:20 AM   #1
Styles90

Most Versatile Rifle cal. For reloading?

I understand there could be many answers to this broad question. The reason I ask I am just getting into reloading and although I already have a few rifles 30-30, 30-06, 300 mag) am reluctant to use them as range guns as they each hold some sentimental value and don't want to send thousands of rounds down the barrel target shooting and try different loads. All but the 30-30 kick to hard for me to shoot more than 10-15 rounds at a time in one siting and I would like a little more distance than the 30-30 can provide. My two needs for this gun is to target shoot out to 300 yards with long barrel life and to occasionally harvest a whitetail out to the same distance.

Been reading a few articles about the 7mm-08 and 280 are both great for handloading and been leaning towards one of them in a Handi rifle. but when looking at the Data in my lyman handbook I don't see what they can do different from what I already have besides being a little more rare which is neat in its self.Maybe I should just shoot lighter loads in my 06 and if i ever do wear out the barrel its a savage so i guess it can be replaced?This is my first post been reading the forums here for a few weeks and seems to be a great group of people here and lots of good info for a new reloader like myself. I look forward to opinions thank you for your time.
Old July 15, 2010, 09:28 AM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Styles90
Been reading a few articles about the 7mm-08
This.

Fantastic deer gun.

Bullets down to at least 100gr, lower if you can find them, with velocities from the 100gr in a 24" barrel of over 3300fps, for varmints. Can you say "explosive"?