The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 12, 2009, 05:20 PM   #1
cobia1966

.45 crimping?

Hi all
I'm fairly new to reloading and have a question about crimping a .45 acp. I'm having a problem with my bullet getting pushed further into the case when the slide goes forward, i.e., 1.26 OAL to 1.211 OAL. I'm thinking its the crimp and want to adjust it, but how do I know if I crimp it too much? Also, what happens if you shoot a bullet thats been crimped too much? I'm using the Lee factory carbide crimp die, if that matters. Also, I'm now shooting a Kimber TLE Custom 2. This problem also happened out of a Taurus PT 1911 and a Colt 1911.
Thanks for any input
Old August 12, 2009, 05:32 PM   #2
AK103K

I use a taper crimp on most of my handgun rounds. It works like it sounds, and doesnt roll the case mouth. Guns like the .45acp headspace on the case mouth, so you really dont want to roll it.
Old August 12, 2009, 05:38 PM   #3
Nnobby45

The spec for case mouth diameter is .471 or .472. Lead needs to be crimmped a little more to .469 or so. If you have one of those silly dies (that Lee seems to like) that roll crimps the bullet into the case, then your diameter right at the mouth will be smaller.

Once your TAPER crimp die is set to produce that dimension, you have the crimp you need. Too much taper crimp can deform the bullet and actually loosen things up. It's the bullet tension produced by the sized case that holds the bullet. The purpose of the die is to restore the case mouth so it's straight, though a proper crimp should reinforce the tension a little.

Take into account the different lengths of "range brass" if that's what you're using. Adjust flare for the shortest so you can seat a flat based bullet. That way it's set even if you use bevel base bullets.