The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old June 28, 2014, 07:48 AM   #1
Twohawks11

Which factory 30-06 load for whitetail hunting

I am new to rifle hunting coming from a traditional bowhunting background.
I have a brand new Remington 700 cdl in 30-06 caliber.
I know about shooting the round that your rifle likes best and all of that, but what I guess I am looking for is what factory round (or load) is best so as not to destroy a lot of meat on the animal?
I would like to understand more about how the bullet works, grain size and power behind it as well as accuracy and penetration.
I would like something with some knock down power but that also won't blow apart the whole shoulder or neck with a misplaced shot?
I am currently considering 150 and/or 165 Remington core lokt (among others)
Thank you all in advance
Old June 28, 2014, 08:06 AM   #2
olddav

I have always heard that for whitetail deer 150 grain is the ticket, however 168 will work. The 150 grain should expend most if not all its engery in the animal where as the 168 grain should go completely through. Penertrating both sides will have the benefit of two points producing a blood trail but will also destroy more meat. You pick your poison.

Hope I got this right!
Old June 28, 2014, 08:59 AM   #3
std7mag

Well, the old saying goes, there is only one level of dead, there are infinite levels of wounded.

With the 06 pretty much anything over 150 gr. will work good for you.

I had always had good luck with the Federal Premium with the 165 gr. Nosler Ballistic Tip.

I "roll my own" now, but still use the Ballistic Tip for hunting. Going to give Sierra Game Kings a try this year.
Old June 28, 2014, 10:02 AM   #4
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

The old 150-grain CoreLokt will kill Bambi as dead as anything else.
Old June 28, 2014, 10:43 AM   #5
Twohawks11

Thanks Guys for your replies!