The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old November 25, 2007, 07:14 PM   #1
portlandron

Help with Remington 870!

I'm relatively new to my Remington 870 Express...I had to disassemble it before firing it for the first time (that's another story!)...upon reassembling everything seems to work fine and it fires fine. However, I have to press the Action Button up before it will allow me to work the pump and chamber the first shell. After the first shell, I can work the action fine and shoot all shots. It seems wrong that I need to push up the action bar before it will let me work the pump...is this wrong? If so, any idea on what I put together incorrectly to cause this?

thanks,
Ron
Old November 25, 2007, 09:15 PM   #2
Splat!!

Unless the gun has been fired you have to push button to cycle action...........Normal operation....
Old November 25, 2007, 09:51 PM   #3
rantingredneck

Uh, yeah, that's the way they work. When the firing pin goes forward it releases the action for the next shot. If the firing pin is cocked the action is locked.

Many people (including me) advocate keeping shotguns "cruiser ready" for HD. This means firing pin down on an empty chamber.

Ensure the weapon is unloaded. Double check that the weapon is unloaded. Triple check that the weapon.......you get the point. Then dry fire it. Then load the magazine. Now since the firing pin is down you'll only have to rack and go.
Old November 28, 2007, 09:09 PM   #4
wgdavdsn

Dry firing --

RantingRedneck wrote: "...Triple check that the weapon.......you get the point. Then dry fire it. Then load the magazine. Now since the firing pin is down you'll only have to rack and go."

I've heard dry-firing is bad for the firing pin and/or other parts, but this may not be an issue with an 870. (Mine is an 870 Express Magnum 2 3/4-3")

So, I don't know if it's O.K. to dry-fire, or to just use a "snap cap."

What do you experts say?

Greg D.