The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old November 25, 2007, 04:08 PM   #1
KyleH

Lessening recoil of my old shotgun

Hello. I have a Winchester Model 1897 from 1919. It is an external hammer shotgun which weighs about 7 lbs and has a steel butt plate. (As full recoil as they come.) I would really like to reduce the recoil of it when shooting it. I have trouble keeping the shotgun on my front deltoid, it tends top slip down between my deltoid and bicep without me noticing and the next day I will have a non visible bruise. Is it supposed to sit in this groove or right on your front deltoid?

I know I can use low recoil ammo, but it is a pain because its not available locally.

What is your experience with various recoil pads? Any other suggestions?

I am new to shooting and have only put about 6 rounds through this shotgun ever.
Old November 25, 2007, 04:13 PM   #2
Slopemeno

You'll notice the recoil less after you get used to shooting it more.

That being said- a properly fitted recoil pad like a Pachmayer Sporting Clays will make the gun much more comfortable to shoot. They arent cheap, and usually require permanently modifying the stock to get your length of pull correct.

Another route you could try is a PAST shield, which is a pad you wear.

97's are nice. They're a piece of history.
Old November 25, 2007, 05:22 PM   #3
KevininPa

I have a Spartan coach gun that I put a Limbsaver on. Best thing I ever did.

Kevin in Pa
Old November 26, 2007, 07:21 PM   #4
BigJimP