The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old November 23, 2016, 08:26 PM   #1
jhinalabama

Houston I think we have a problem

This is the end of my rem 700 sps tac .308 muzzle. That will not shoot a good group. What are your thoughts, this is the first one I have ever seen.rem 700 muzzle.JPG
Old November 23, 2016, 09:30 PM   #2
Mr. Hill

Yeah that's a problem....
Old November 23, 2016, 09:32 PM   #3
Iwanttoshootbettter

Discouraging, round count bore age ?
Old November 23, 2016, 09:36 PM   #4
TXAZ

Ouch! cutting 1/2" - 1" off the end might be an option of last resort if a smith can't repair it.

Cave illos in guns et backhoes
Old November 23, 2016, 10:25 PM   #5
44 AMP
Staff

I'm no expert, but that looks like tool chatter to me. The QC never should have passed that one...

Call, then send it to Remington??
Old November 23, 2016, 10:26 PM   #6
dahermit

Quote:
Discouraging, round count bore age ?
It is generally held that gun barrels wear-out from erosion in the throat. The picture looks more like the physical damage caused by something harder than (or as hard as) the barrel steel, like the steel core of a barrel brush breaking and jamming into the end of the rifling. In short, the problem was not caused by a high round count...somebody jammed something into the muzzle of that rifle that should not have been put there (if that gun was not new). Or it was a manufacturing defect...if the gun is new. If that defect is only near the muzzle, then as someone posted, the affected portion can be cut off and the barrel recrowned.
Old November 23, 2016, 10:53 PM   #7
valkyrierdr

That looks bad. That will definately ruin accuracy.
Old November 23, 2016, 10:57 PM   #8
lefteye

I suspect that damage had to be caused by something harder than the barrel steel, and therefore, was done during the manufacturing of the rifle.
Old November 23, 2016, 11:01 PM   #9
Rifletom

I agree with lefteye. Is that gun new? Ain't good.