The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old October 7, 2015, 03:45 PM   #1
Sig0431

New member, first question

First I would like to introduce myself. My name is Sig and I have been a long time viewer of this site and decided that it was time for me to register and get involved a little. So here is some information about me.

1. I am an Active Duty Marine. Been in for 13 years now.
2. I am an avid shoot but by no means an expert nor do I think I ever will be, you can always learn more.
3. I am here to learn, not to cause any hate or discontent, but please put me in my pace if do anything wrong as I am new to point on online forums.

Okay so onto my question. I am being moved to 29 Palms CA in December. I have a 1911 that I personally built and love but I am not going to take it to CA. I would like to start focusing on steel / speed shooting and am going to buy a 9mm and 22lr. I have narrowed down my 9mm list to either Glock 34, Glock 17L or Sig p320 full size. I know the Sig is a little off form the normal but there is a lot that I like about that weapon.

I am concerned the 17L may be a little too long for speed shooting and I know that the Glock 34 is considered a typical pistol for speed shooting. Does anyone have any input for me on these three pistols? I am going to a range to shoot all three this weekend and I know that how the pistol feels to me is a large aspect but since I have never actually be in a competition before I would just like to obtain some insight from some of you all here that have a vast amount of knowledge.

Thank you all for your help and time. Semper FI

-Sig
Old October 8, 2015, 11:06 AM   #2
g.willikers

Your proposed choices are all suitable for the type of shooting you mentioned.
It's more about the time you are willing to invest in practice than the gun, itself.