The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old June 27, 2007, 09:18 AM   #1
darko

Leaving magazines loaded, weaken spring tension???

I've always wondered about this and would be interested as to what the factual response would be. Does leaving a magazine/clip loaded weaken the spring tension?? It would seem that having the spring pushed down for extended periods of time would cause it to retain some of that crimp thereby causing improper feed in the long run? I try not to leave mags loaded for to long for this purpose. what is the consensus on this issue...or non issue.
Old June 27, 2007, 09:26 AM   #2
SAS Phantom

I'm no pro here, but all the peope that I know that shot everyday to twice a year all have there mags full. My friend is a special agent and his CCW gun is always loaded with one in the tube. I see your point but I have never heard any of my buds say they leave there mags empty. I know some people that have ther guns in there money safe loaded, just in caes. They never have had a proble firing it after a long term.
Old June 27, 2007, 09:32 AM   #3
dbgun

loaded magazines

Do a search on this topic. It's been discussed a lot. Try this link: http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/...aded+magazines
Old June 27, 2007, 10:35 AM   #4
Renfield

constant compression doesn't wear out springs..repeated compression does

"In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends"
Martin Luther King, Jr.

"Orators are most vehement when their cause is weak" Marcus Tullius Cicero

Old June 27, 2007, 11:20 AM   #5
Jart

AH compliments of FindArticles:
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/m...27/ai_99130369

Urban legend / myth.

Interesting that there was a recommendation to cycle magazines but it was related to the ammo rather than the spring.
Old June 27, 2007, 12:41 PM   #6
CGSteve8718