The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old October 20, 2008, 12:02 PM   #1
travelerBT

38 super VS. 9mm Major VS. 9x23 please help!

I am just getting into the IPSC shooting world and I am ADDICTED!

I just want to know a few things:

1. I want to stay in the "Major" realm... is it a good idea to be shooting 9mm Major?
2. 38 super can be loaded hot to get to "major" standing. Is there anyone who I can send my brass to to get it reloaded the way i want it done? I HATE reloading... so boring!
3. What the heck is a 9x23? Is that the same as a 38 super? I am confused...
4. Why are SVI guns so much more expensive then the STI? Are they THAT much better?

Thanks everyone!

Build your custom 1911 ONLINE! http://www.milehigharmory.com
Old October 20, 2008, 01:41 PM   #2
lmccrock

1. I have not done it, but many have. Brian Enos Open Gun forum and Brian Enos 9 major reloading thread

2. According to STI:
Quote:
Q. I do not reload but want to shoot major power loads in your pistols. Where can I purchase 9mm and 38 super major loaded ammunition?
A. Atlanta Arms & Ammo. produces high quality ammunition for use in competition pistols. Their information is as follows. Atlanta Arms & Ammo. 721 Vine Cr. Social Circle, GA 30025 Phone:770-464-2203
And Atlanta Arms got their own headstamp ".355 super" to make it harder to accidently stuff a 9 major into a gun not designed for it.

3. 9x23 is 9x23 Winchester. It is closer to 9x19 but stretched an extra 4mm. By the way, there is also "38 super comp" which I believe is 38 super but fully rimless.

4. The STI factory guns' SRP is $2700-3400, although used ones can be found in the market for less. Not sure how much an SVI is, brand new.

Lee
Old October 20, 2008, 02:23 PM   #3
RickB

Most everyone I know who has had an Open gun built in the last year, has had it chambered in 9mmP. The sole reason appears to be "cheap brass".