The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old October 30, 2016, 11:15 AM   #1
remodeler

FN 1910 & P.38 Advice

I purchased a home and found a couple WW2 handguns during the remodel. I already have too many expensive hobbies, so I'm not going to get into antique handguns. I've never bought or sold a gun, so I'm new to this. Do any of you have any ideas of what they're worth? Any advice on how I can (legally) sell them for what they're worth? (They're obviously not registered to me).

Thanks for the help!

Old October 30, 2016, 11:45 AM   #2
Bill DeShivs

There is no federal law requiring registration. A very few states do require it.
Assuming you are in one of the "free" states, you can sell the guns much like you would anything else. It is a good idea to have a record of who you sold them to.
Another way to sell them is to a gun dealer. They will not pay you as much as you might get in a private sale.
You can not sell the guns across your state line unless you ship it to a licensed gun dealer in another state.
If you live in a repressive state like California, New York, or Illinois- forget everything I told you and find a local gun dealer for advice.
Old October 30, 2016, 03:08 PM   #3
Ernest T

I'd put the value of the FN 1910 in the balkpark of $200 to $350 if it has all parts and is fully functional. The P38 appears to be a Walther model with a 43 date. That gun could be in the $700 to $1200 range depending on condition, and markings. There are many small variations in these pistols that can affect price.