The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 28, 2021, 12:45 AM   #1
Butzbach

All 2 3/4 12 ga shells are not created equal

I feel like I missed a rule of thumb / tribal wisdom somewhere along the line. 12 ga 2 3/4 00 Buck shells made by Noble are too long to fit in my Saiga drum mags. I have found other brands of nominally 2 3/4 buckshot that are also too long.

Is this common knowledge to everyone but me? If so, is there some way of knowing which 2 3/4 shells are proper “shorties” if you will and which are longer? Or is physically measuring them the only solution?

Enquiring minds want to know.
Old October 28, 2021, 11:46 AM   #2
bamaranger

variation

I have no experience with Noble brand, but I have seen variation in shotshells.
I was once issued a Win 1200 for duty use. The gun would not eject certain brands of slugs, the spent hull would not clear the ejection port...too long. Experimenting yielded one brand it preferred, but I can't recall mfg.

All the 1200's in the district (6) exhibited that flaw, as well as weak ejection overall with any hull. Several did not shoot slugs to point of aim at 50 yds either, as I recall, shooting a foot high if they had the problem.

I stumbled up on the purchase orders. The guns had been bought in the early 70's, and were about $15-20 dollars cheaper than an 870 at the time if my research was correct. The Win 1200's were eventually replaced with 870's, the Winchesters no longer conforming to rewritten policy. Some of the 870's didn't want to run either, but that's another story.
Old October 28, 2021, 01:57 PM   #3
Rob228

I could be mistaken on this, but I am fairly certain the length is measured after firing (not a crimped shell), so there is going to be variation by brand, a few minutes on google has left me not being able to find any compiled chart by brand though.