The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 15, 2015, 07:15 PM   #1
Frankly

newbie seeks advice on primer pocket cleaning

Hello folks,

I am new to reloading and have been taking it slowly to make sure I don't blow anything up.

Finally got my reloading station completed and my press put together.

I own and have read (more than once) both the Lee and Lyman reloading books, so I do have some theoretical knowledge on this great new pastime, just no practical experience as yet.

First thing I did after getting everything set up was to decap and resize nearly 600 once-fired 44 magnum shells salvaged from factory ammo I had bought and fired over the years. That took awhile—and my arm is sore.

I am writing to get feedback from experienced reloaders on the matter of cleaning the primer pockets. Is this something you routinely do with each case, or only upon inspection and as indicated by.... ? I am including a representative sample picture of what my decapped once-fired shells look like, hoping that may help you to advise me. Your feedback is most appreciated.

Old April 15, 2015, 07:19 PM   #2
Bart B.

As clean as those are, they're ready for priming. No cleaning needed.
Old April 15, 2015, 07:21 PM   #3
stagpanther

Many people don't bother--the line of reasoning being that there are other factors that will have more effect on the accuracy of the load before that's a factor.

I always clean mine and clear the flash hole as well. The key thing is to not overdo it and remove metal which can affect how well the primer seats. Never once have had a primer fall/blow out or fail due to seating (had a few that were simply defective and would not ignite).
Old April 15, 2015, 08:29 PM   #4
passtime

Some say it is not necessary. I clean mine because I like mine clean and I have the time to do it.
Old April 15, 2015, 08:51 PM   #5
1100 tac

I'm with those guys^^