The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 9, 2009, 01:49 PM   #1
Carolina Cowboy

Hand Loading 45lc for SASS or CAS

I am new to this so have a ton of questions. First one is what would you guys or Ladies recommend for a good hand loader that will not break the bank to reload a couple 100 shells a week? Where would a person buy and what brand as Brass and primers and Powder go? I just ordered two of USFAs single action revolvers in 45LC and would like to shoot at a little less cost per shell than if possible, and the reason for getting the 45LC is just something I have always wanted. The ranges here (would have to be indoor as I live in Michigan now) most require Jacketed ammo. So I guess I would reload a different shell for practice and lead bullets for the SASS shooting?
Old October 9, 2009, 02:22 PM   #2
Claude Clay

hi & welcome

a lee 4 hole turret can load 150/ hour basic set up---press/dies/ scale/ calipers / tumbler about $350.oo.

starline for brass 500/$80

bulletworks for 250gr lead $72/1000
large pistol primers are $30/1000 in CT
1 pound of Unique is about $22 and is 7000 grains.
a light SASS load is 6.8gr

so figure 12 cents/round lead plus 1 penny per round to amortize the cost of the equipment
plated bullets run $110ish/1000. rainer or Barrie's makes no difference as you are not in this for speed;
you just want to practice inside with plated/jacketed. plated uses the same load formula as lead.

good luck CC

----if you have an extra $200 id try to takl you into getting a dillon square-deal D. loads 400 an hour.
i have both and use the lee to work up a load or for small quanities. when i started SASS i was shooting 1000/month
12 years later it is still fun and i still go through 4 or 5 hundred a month.

dont forget a rifle-- rossie/puma is good value/for money.

Make a fire for a man and you warm him for the night