The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old April 25, 2011, 08:13 PM   #1
ZVP

Need to remidy a bad "Hold"

For some reason I started shooting to the left with my Vaquero?
I tried to evaluate the problem and it seemes like I was pulling the grip at the point of the right thumb. This error was throwing me left of center as much as 3/4" at 7 yards. Extend this out to 18 yards and you have a potential miss.
Grip errors are easilly picked up and hard to un-learn! I have consciously had to let my right (trigger hand)Thumb extend straight out and hang loose to compensate. Now I need to add the thumb back into the full handhold and relocate the thumb pressure.
What a hassle! Bad habits are like that...
Once I accomplished letting go with the thumb, groups shifted back to center.
Now I have to try and develop a two hand hold where pressure is released from this point? The left (cocking) Thumb seems not to affect the POI.
At first I was apprehensive about letting go, with even full velocity .38 Specials, and I then tried some high end .357's with no problems.
My usual load is a 140 grain Lead RNFP loaded by a buddy to about meduim velocity. This target load is just below Winchester 158Gr Cowboy loads far as recoil goes. So I need to work-up to CAS recoil and keep it centered. Every error even when shooting at big CAS plates throws ya off!
Lucky I have an extensive background in airguns and am used to shifting miniscule pressure-points within my grip. Nevertheless, the quick, action shooting grip style this is going to be a learned trait. Repition is the trick.
Anyone got any suggestions?
ZVP
Old April 25, 2011, 10:08 PM   #2
bedbugbilly