The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 10, 2017, 11:37 PM   #1
dragon32

280 Remington reload data help

Hello I'm new to reloading. Just started reloading for my Thompson center venture 280 Remington 24 inch barrel. I'm trying to understand what my velocity should be I don't own a chronograph yet but plan on buying one in the future. Here's what I have loaded up Remington core lokt Ultra bonded 140 grain with 57.5 grains of r19. My OAL is 3.28. I'm trying to achieve 2950-3000 muzzle velocity. The load data I got with my Lee die set and Alliant said with 59 grains of r19 (max load) should be around 2960. But other people are claiming they are getting near and over 3000 with 57 grains of r19 with a 22 inch barrel. So can anyone help me figure out what my muzzle velocity is??? Very frustrating. Thanks for all your help.

Will
Old November 11, 2017, 01:52 AM   #2
44 AMP
Staff

While there are other ways to calculate your bullet's velocity, a chronograph is the easiest way, and they are pretty cheap today, compared to what they used to cost.

However, it doesn't really matter all that much. Your rifle and load combination are going to deliver what they deliver, and it may be more, or less velocity than other people get with their rifles and loads.

Every barrel and bullet combination is slightly different, and sometimes these differences stack up to deliver results at either end of the bell curve.

Sometimes, a given 22" barrel shoots a given load faster than a 24" barrel. Its not impossible, and not really all that unusual. "identical" barrels can show a difference in velocity, shooting the same ammunition. As much as 100fps is not unheard of. Not common, but not unheard of.
Old November 11, 2017, 08:05 AM   #3
std7mag

I don't go for the very last FPS. Accurate is more important.
And any game you hunt isn't going to notice 50fps.
Old November 11, 2017, 08:52 AM   #4