The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 17, 2019, 04:28 PM   #1
Head Tomcat

Uberti 1851 Colt Navy Conversion....Parts Needed?

Guys,

First post here and am looking for some information regarding the conversion of a Uberti 1851 Colt Navy from percussion to center-fire cartridge.

I have been shooting C&B revolvers for a bit over two years now and really enjoy it. So far I have a Uberti 1861 Navy and Uberti 1858 Remington from Taylors...with Long Hunter tuning the Navy for me. From that I saw what a correctly tuned pistol should look and "feel" like and then tuned the Remington myself. Both of them are a true joy to use and certainly attract notice when used at the local range!

For the 1851 Navy conversion project, I have the tools and knowledge to properly install the conversion cylinder myself...so, no real concern there.

What I am looking for is advice on what to use for an ejector assembly?

I emailed Howell about their gated conversion cylinder and really like how it looks and works. The concern I have is how to eject the empty brass. Howell said to use a wood dowel or similar item (that will clearly work) but this seems a bit "crude" to me. Could a Kirst ejector assembly I see advertised by Buffalo Arm Co work? Or order from Taylors an Uberti ejector assembly as used in their factory 1851 conversion?

This could all be solved by simply buying a 1851 Navy already converted by the factory...but heck - that takes all the fun out of working on these pistols!

Any thoughts on a good way to go that gets a proper ejector assembly into an 1851 Navy?

Thanks!

Head Tomcat
Old December 17, 2019, 06:47 PM   #2
Hawg

Get the ejector assembly shown here. https://www.kirstkonverter.com/1851-61-colt-navy.html
Old December 17, 2019, 09:05 PM   #3
44 Dave

Are you going to reline the barrel or reload healed bullets?
Old December 18, 2019, 10:25 AM   #4
Head Tomcat