The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 15, 2020, 02:04 PM   #1
globemaster3

Advice on 2 die sets

I am just getting into rifle reloading and need some advice on which of 2 die sets to purchase. I am reloading 6.8 SPC to be used in ARs.

Option 1: RCBS Full Length Die Set - Group A.
https://www.natchezss.com/rcbs-full-...m-rem-spc.html

Option 2: Hornady Custom Grade New Dimension Series III Rifle 2-Die Set

https://www.natchezss.com/hornady-cu...m-rem-spc.html

I have zero experience in rifle reloading, so any advice would be appreciated.

"We have enough gun control. What we need is idiot control."
Old October 15, 2020, 02:59 PM   #2
Nathan

I prefer Hornady because I get low 0.003” max runout when fl sizing, lock rings are great, sliding sleeve seater, good price, free bullets.
Old October 15, 2020, 03:39 PM   #3
Shotgun Slim

I have both types and I really prefer the Hornady. Nathan pretty well covered it above...
Old October 15, 2020, 04:47 PM   #4
Scorch

I have used both types, both work. RCBS is good stuff and very reliable, Hornady has a few "gee whiz" type features and also very good, and both turn out good ammo. Flip a coin, only a few bucks difference in price.
Old October 16, 2020, 12:22 PM   #5
globemaster3

Thanks for the insight gents!

Old October 17, 2020, 09:03 AM   #6
Nathan

Scorch...it sounds like you prefer RCBS....Can you tell us a bit why?

I can tell you why I do not like them. I may be over stating it. I had a set of 40 S&W dies from RCBS that would give inconsistent oal’s. It was so bad that I couldn’t keep it under 0.02” variation. Who knows exactly why. I didn’t call RCBS, just pitched the dies, if I remember right.
Old October 17, 2020, 09:21 AM   #7
Geezerbiker