The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old August 10, 2011, 09:57 AM   #1
longfellow

Colt 45 acp Commander for target shooting

I have been hunting around for a standard (5 inch) 1911 to use for local club target competition (most any gun is acceptable and course of fire is not official) and stumbled on a Combat (steel frame) Commander, all original. I am new to pistol target shooting and wonder if there's a measurable disadvantage to the shorter barrel models. As litle as I know, they might be preferred so the question is a very general one; That is "How suitable is this model for "Entry-to-moderately competitive level competition?" I need to ask this because I intend only to buy one gun and keep it for as long as the gun itself surpasses my ability. Right now I could use my Blackhawk and still get some useful experience, but we all know how rapidly, the initial improvements come (assuming there are few bad habbits that need correction) and then more slowly thereafter. I don't want to discover a couple of years from now that I genuinely need to have another gun. Nor do I want to develop any additional bad habbits BECAUSE I started out with a four inch 1911. I am not opposed to some custom work down the road to enhance accuracy but they should not require a whole new base platform.
If your answers can be at all quantified or at least qualified (and I am speaking to those serious competitors I think), I would like your input.
Thanks,
Ed
Old August 10, 2011, 11:17 AM   #2
RickB