The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 6, 2011, 07:35 AM   #1
Steelers252006

shotgun

If I were to consider purchasing a shotgun strictly for home defense, what would be a good one to get? I have no experience whatsoever with a shotgun. Also, how would you conceal it somewhere close by where you can get to it quickly and yet it's in a safe spot otherwise? Any input would be appreciated.
Old October 6, 2011, 08:51 AM   #2
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

There is many considerations for you...
First off... I do not promote the use of chinese knockoffs for anything but a toy.

Mossberg has the safety located atop the frame... remington has a crossbolt safety. Both are very proven and qualified for HD...

Price goes up fast with Benelli, Beretta etc... I suggest a pump for your first HD shotgun.

As for hiding it... I have home made gun rack hooks made of 1X6 pine on my closet wall. I also set a gun against the inside of closet so I can reach in and grab it.

I don't always have it hid either... There are times it/they may be beside the bed.

There is also a nice little gem...

http://www.the-backup.com/

Bed side rack hidden by made bed blanket/spread

Brent
Old October 6, 2011, 09:12 AM   #3
jmortimer

Mossberg 930 - I like the plain Jane models but the 930 SPX is all "pimped-out." Reliable and the best deal for the $$$. With the semi-auto you will shoot faster and have less recoil.
Old October 6, 2011, 11:19 AM   #4
oneounceload

Before you buy anything, you may want to take a shotgun HD course and try what they have there to see what will work best for you - it might be a SxS, a pump, or an auto - personal preference plays a big part in selection
Old October 6, 2011, 12:44 PM   #5
TheKlawMan

I have wondered about that bed rack that hogdogs mentions. I don't know if I like it or not, but I do not agree with one thing said on its web site.

Quote: