The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old November 24, 2018, 12:07 AM   #1
tmd47762

Mossberg Patriot vs Savage Axis

I’ve been looking for a no frills rifle for deer to maybe elk if the weather is bad and some range shooting. After bouncing around on calibers I came back to the 308 as the best option, though for the right price I could go with a 270 or 30-06. I’ve narrowed the race to the savage and mossberg. I like the stock on the Mossberg more but the safety is merely ok. The Savage has a better feeling safety but the stock feel is slightly less good. I can get either new locally for $300 with a scope. I also have found lightly used patriots for 230 in pawn shops around here. My guess is that whichever is the right price gets the spot in the safe but wanted to see what personal experience might be out there.
Old November 24, 2018, 01:12 AM   #2
montanaoffroader

I have some experience with both models, and they both have good and bad points. The one thing that stands out for me is the trigger. The base model Axis can have a pretty heavy trigger pull, I had to do a little work to mine to bring the pull weight down to a reasonable level.

The Mossberg has a decent trigger right out of the box. Not necessarily great, but decent - and it's adjustable. Makes it a whole lot easier to shoot accurately, IMO.

The Axis II is available with the AccuTrigger, but they tend to run higher in price.

I currently own an Axis in .223, my nephew owns an Axis in .223, and my daughter owns the Patriot in .270. Also, my BIL owns the Patriot in .243. He used to own an Axis, but he traded it in on the Patriot.

Both models have functioned well enough, and both are reasonably accurate but if I had to live with just one them it would be the Mossberg. If I hadn't purchased the Axis before the Patriot came out, I would probably be a Patriot owner right now.
Old November 24, 2018, 06:06 AM   #3
Bfglowkey