The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old April 28, 2015, 07:45 PM   #1
Jellicle

Grandpa's guns

I'm somewhat new to the Curio thing. OK, very new. But I think at least one, and maybe both, of these belong in that category.

Without making this too long a story, my grandfather passed away in the mid-80's. In his attic were a couple of old trunks and some boxes of old documents, magazines, newspaper clippings and such, and in his shop was a mass of old tools. My grandmother left them as is, and when she left us, it all got moved, pretty much intact, to an outbuilding on my parents place. Well, last summer my mother passed on, and my father is now moving into my youngest brother's house, with the farm going up for sale. My little brother quickly volunteered to take care of all the old tools and crafts stuff, which was ok by me, as I love historical documents, photos, etc.

But one weekend back in February, I was going through the 3rd of 5 boxes, and found an old locked security box, like a cash box. I set it aside and finished my digging (found some cool photos, but that's fer another day). Then had to work a couple shifts.

The first morning I was off work, I took the box to a buddy's shop, and he used a portable band saw to cut off the hinge on the box. And, inside wrapped in oil cloth and brown paper, were these...

Well, I can't get Tinypic to work right here, so I'll attach the photo instead.

They were covered in what I later found out was Cosmoline, with pieces of cotton soaked in the stuff in the barrels and chambers. I cleaned on them most of a day to get all that stuff off. But I'm glad it was so thorough, because the little guys were in great shape.

The PPK I figured out right away. The little Colt I had to kind of look it over, but on the barrel it says "Pocket Positive .32 Police Ctg.".