The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old August 12, 2020, 01:53 AM   #1
Chaosgundam

Carrying one up with Ruger LCP for new owner

Good day

I recently purchased my first Firearm, a Ruger LCP. Since I am still pretty new to firearms I have the obvious reservations of carrying the firearm with one in the pipe. I am currently carrying the pistol in my pocket with the pocket holster that comes with the pistol.

I have two questions in this regard.

1. I carry the pistol with me all the time, literally. The only time I dont have the pistol with me is when I am in bed. So the firearm is in my pants pocket when I play with my kids, cook dinner, go to work, watch television and so on. Is this save to do. Will this damage the pistol in some way, for instance sweat, bumps and so on?

2. From what I see here everyone says you should carry with one in the pipe. I figure that this question has been asked to death but I would like to have confirmation also that this firearm is save to carry as it has no safety, when its loaded the hammer is only half cocked. Has anyone ever had any issues with the standard holster provided? Im terrified of the idea that one of my kids sit on my lap and there is a accidental discharge. I only carry the firearm in my pocket, nothing else and I constantly check to see if it remains holstered. No zips for pockets.

Sorry for the long post. Any advice would greatly be appreciated. Thank you in advance and enjoy your day.

Last edited by Chaosgundam; August 12, 2020 at 04:54 AM.
Old August 12, 2020, 04:54 AM   #2
jetinteriorguy