The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old February 14, 2017, 08:05 PM   #1
LarsG35

Looking for other opinions

Hi all! I've been lurking nearly daily for a couple years and I've decided it was time to share/contribute in the wealth of advice that TFL offers!

I've been purchasing firearms at the rate of ~2/year for the last 3 years and previously I've been very decisive about what I wanted. Now that I have a good start, it's more difficult.

Here's what I have so far:

S&W 625 5in
Springfield XD40 w/ 22lr conv
Taurus 605 3in
10/22 takedown
870 super magnum
30-06 bolt action w/ scope
military surplus bolt action

Here's what's on the list of potential next purchases:

SR1911 or similarly equipped/priced 1911
Springfield XDs45
Super BlackHawk Hunter (44 mag)
AK47 or AK74 (most likely w/ folding stock in $750-$900 range)
(other suggestions are welcome, but I'd like most of the discussion on these)

Some basic info about me:
Mid 20s
I can't CCW at work
I primarily value firearms for hunting/fun sport (secondly for protection)
I hunt in the north woods and have seen black bear
I go to the range once every 5/6 weeks
I don't reload (might eventually reload 357 mag and/or 44 mag)
Not too concerned with budget (especially in an ammo sense)
I like grip safeties on handguns

Most of the people I know think I should either do the XDs45 or the AK47. I'm currently leaning towards the SBH hunter because I think it will be the most fun at the range.

Thanks for your time!
Old February 14, 2017, 08:18 PM   #2
disseminator

I would also pick the Super Blackhawk Hunter from your choices.

Old February 14, 2017, 08:23 PM   #3
1stmar

I don't see the value in another xd at this point. I'd look at the sr1911. But a little more info would be good. What do you like about guns you have? What don't you like? If you think you want hunt w a handgun I would agree w the Blackhawk
Old February 15, 2017, 12:13 AM   #4
Targa