The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 1, 2005, 11:40 PM   #1
hknut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 2, 2005
Location: Olympia, Wa.
Posts: 535
Kill Flash

Will the Kill Flash screw into the Hakko Tacpoint? If anybody knows, please let me know.
hknut is offline  
Old June 13, 2005, 04:01 PM   #2
hknut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 2, 2005
Location: Olympia, Wa.
Posts: 535
No one knows?
hknut is offline  
Old June 13, 2005, 05:13 PM   #3
Handy
Junior member
 
Join Date: August 31, 2001
Posts: 8,785
I bet the people that make "Kill Flash" (whatever that is) know what their product is compatible with.
Handy is offline  
Old June 13, 2005, 08:10 PM   #4
IronLance
Member
 
Join Date: May 24, 2004
Location: Dakotas
Posts: 71
For those who don't know what killFlash is: http://www.camouflage.com/mil_intro.html

hknut, I don't see the Hakko listed on their website. Handy's advice is good: contact Tenebræx on the above webpage and see what they have to say.
__________________
Freedom restricted by personal conscience is a choice. Freedom restricted by legislation or regulation becomes a privilege that can be taxed or taken away.
IronLance is offline  
Old June 13, 2005, 09:11 PM   #5
Jim Watson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 25, 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 14,907
Heck, I know what a kill flash is, I just never heard of a Hakko Tacpoint.
Jim Watson is offline  
Old June 14, 2005, 06:19 PM   #6
sixtyKaday
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 24, 2005
Posts: 11
I had Kill Flash in my Aimpoints and they about drove me crazy. Have you ever used one? If your really worried about "flash", you can just use the sight with the front cap closed. Works just like the original OEG's.
sixtyKaday is offline  
Old June 15, 2005, 02:28 PM   #7
hknut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 2, 2005
Location: Olympia, Wa.
Posts: 535
As a ex-army (101st Airborne) sniper, yes I have used a Killflash before. It is a little hard to shoot with the cap closed!
hknut is offline  
Old June 15, 2005, 04:47 PM   #8
sixtyKaday
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 24, 2005
Posts: 11
If you've ever used the old Armson OEG dot sights, you would understand the concept. Those sights required you to shoot with both eyes open(like you should with the Aimpoint type sights anyway). The sight itself was just a dot on a black field that you cant see through. With both eyes open, the brain superimposes the dot onto the target and the bullet goes where you put it. The Aimpoints with the front cap closed work the same way. I do it all the time with mine, with no loss of accuracy. If you have one, give it a try. The kill flashes where driving me crazy with that honeycomb. It's much better without it. I remembered my old OEG and gave it a try, and sure enough, it worked. I usually do shoot with the cap open, but if I were ever to feel the need to worry about "flash", I know all I have to do is close the front cover. This also stops the dot from being visible from the front too, especially at night. And yes, before y'all start jumping up and down, you can see the dot from the front. If you doubt it, try that too.
sixtyKaday is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2018 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.05307 seconds with 10 queries