The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old May 4, 2009, 10:22 PM   #1
.300 Weatherby Mag

Lyman .44 percussion pistol help...

This is the first time I've posted in this forum and I'm completely new to blackpowder firearms. I just picked up a Lyman .44 percussion pistol from my Grandpa. He built it from a kit around 25 years ago and it sat in a drawer wrapped in a blanket unfired until I talked him out of it.. I know the barrel needs to be browned to be correct. That will be accomplished soon... I want to shoot blackpowder out of it and not any of the substitutes.. I just picked up some roundballs today... What else do I need to get started (beyond powder)?? What is the powder grain range for this pistol? Good sources for black power shooting supplies?? Thanks for the help!!!

Old May 4, 2009, 11:18 PM   #2
the rifleer

Well good luck finding real BP. I havent found any, but the substitutes work fine. You need-

A powder measure- DO NOT shoot it unless you know exactly how much powder to use. check the manual if you have it. If you cant find a manual then 25 grains of black powder is probably ok.

Caps and balls. Probably No.11 caps.

Patches

A small funnel makes life easier.

Powder flask (optional, again, makes life easier)

When you are done give it a good cleaning. Its not like cleaning a regular smokeless powder firearm, you need to use black powder solvent and spend some quality time cleaning it and making sure that there isnt any residue left, otherwise the barrel can and will corrode. I recommend getting some BoreButter to protect the bore after you get it nice and clean.

One thing to get is a bullet puller. I have loaded mine without power before and its tough to get out with out a bullet puller.

I gen supplies online, but check local gun shops for this stuff. Expect to pay $50-100 to get it shooting.