The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 16, 2007, 06:14 PM   #1
eon_shift

New Reloader looking for advice on 30-06

Im brand new to hunting and reloading and am looking for some advice on reloding components and tools could you guys help me out any advice would be appreciated.
Old April 16, 2007, 06:16 PM   #2
eon_shift

Ive looked into Lee products and was thinking of getting theyre hand press I would be loading for mostly hunting but also the occasional target shooting.
Old April 16, 2007, 07:40 PM   #3
rwilson452

I really wouldn't suggest the Lee hand press if you have any other options. for a low end price wise I would suggest the Lee anniversary kit. Read the sticky at the top of this forum. Then buy yourself a copy of, "The ABC's of Reloading" before you put your money down on any equipment.
Old April 16, 2007, 07:55 PM   #4
ConRich

+1 on the advice posted by rwilson452, buy the book FIRST, it will pay for itself on your first purchase of equipment.

Rich
Old April 16, 2007, 08:15 PM   #5
eon_shift

Any reasons against the hand press i just see it as a convenience so i dont have to build a bench.
Old April 16, 2007, 09:52 PM   #6
Randy_che

First, I have not used a Lee hand press, so take my opinion with that in mind.

To me, it doesn't look like the hand press will provide enough leverage to comfortably resize large rifle cases like the 30-06. If you were just planning on using it for seating bullets or decapping, or 38 special or other light duty, I would think it would work well. But the 30-06 can take some considerable force to do a full length resize, and I like a strong press with a good handle mounted to a sturdy bench for that duty.