The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old February 15, 2016, 06:09 PM   #1
GreatLakesEnthusiast

WWII Rifle Information?

Hey guys and gals,

I have recently become interested in bolt-action and semi-automatic firearms used during the second world war and have been researching the histories of those weapons with the intent of making a future purchase. Though I am not new to shooting, I am completely new to much of the information that is available on the internet referencing these firearms.

I was wondering if anyone had a tip on some reliable online sites or books that have good information on the different platforms including:
  • History
  • Value I should expect to pay
  • Scams to look out for
  • Tips to lower the price (Such as Russian Capture Mauser's)

The first rifle I purchase will be with the intent to shoot occasionally, so I'm not looking to buy a multi-thousand dollar rifle with matching serial numbers to start but do plan to buy more than one going into the future. Do any of you have a specific preference and why. I know that many love the Mauser, and some prefer systems that were based on the Mauser.
Old February 15, 2016, 08:18 PM   #2
James K
Member In Memoriam

There are excellent books on the individual weapons (e.g., Law's Backbone of the Wehrmacht on the German K.98k) but the best general book is Small Arms of the World (Smith and Smith). It was published in a number of editions, so try to find the latest. Otherwise, there are books on just about all the arms you might be interested in. American arms are well covered, from Hatcher's and Canfield's books on the Garand, to Ruth's classic on the carbine, War Baby.