The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 18, 2010, 10:56 PM   #1
home sick

I am looking to buy a chronograph any suggestions

I want to spend about a $150.00 on one does any one have any advice.
Old December 18, 2010, 11:06 PM   #2
testuser

I had a shooting chrony at one point and it was accidentally shot! I switched to the Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph. It has a much larger measurement area, onboard statistics and remembers multiple shot strings. Best yet, it made in the USA. That's rare for electronics nowadays. Midway sells them for $120.
Old December 18, 2010, 11:13 PM   #3
flyguy958

Best suggestion, don't shoot it.

I have a Beta Master, haven't used it enough to know if I like it or not.
Old December 19, 2010, 10:12 AM   #4
billnourse

I have a Beta Master. It seems to work just fine. they are around 125 or so from most places.

Bill
Cooper 52 25/06, Cooper 52 30/06, Cooper 52 338/06Cooper 57 .17HMR, Remington VS .22/250 all left handed. Rock River Predator Persuit AR-15, 1952 Marlin 336 in 30/30. 2 Kimber 1911, Colt 1911, S&W .357 Mag, Kahr .40 and .380
Old December 19, 2010, 11:10 AM   #5
Unclenick
Staff

HS,

See if you can come up with an additional $50 to get a CED M2. I have both the M1 (now replaced by the M2) and an Oehler 35P. They always read within just a few feet per second of one another. Bryan Litz reports the same experience with the Oehler and CED in his book. Others I've messed with have disagreed with them by as much as 200 fps (25-50 fps is more common) at .308 velocities, and the amount of the disagreement has changed with lighting conditions.