The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old December 4, 2008, 01:06 PM   #1
JohnH1963

Navy Seals: Long hair, beard, jeans, etc.

I always see the Navy SEALs wear a variety of getups in any photos that are out there on the internet. For example, jeans. In every photo, every SEAL always is unshaven with long hair.

Im wondering what is the purpose behind these outfits? Is there a tactical purpose or is it more of a historic SEAL thing to go against the grain?
Old December 4, 2008, 01:09 PM   #2
ilbob

disguise

Disclaimers: I am not a lawyer, cop, soldier, gunsmith, politician, plumber, electrician, or a professional practitioner of many of the other things I comment on in this forum.
Old December 4, 2008, 01:10 PM   #3
csmsss

SEAL missions frequently involve going "undercover", as it were, in order to obtain the best and most reliable information about their target(s). In many places they will be going, the locals favor long hair and beards. Hence, long hair and beards. Last I heard, this hasn't prevented the SEALs from fighting effectively and getting their missions accomplished.
Old December 4, 2008, 01:10 PM   #4
BurkGlocker

Well, SEALs are supposed to fit in, be hidden, especially with them being over in the Middle East, where beards and long hair are the norm, not clean shaven and crew cuts. Appearance is the first camouflage in my opinion.
Old December 4, 2008, 01:21 PM   #5
Doyle

Go read the book "Rogue Warrier" by Richard Marchinco. He was the founder and first Commanding Officer of Seal Team 6.
Old December 4, 2008, 02:45 PM   #6
NWPilgrim

Spit and polish stand out like a neon sign. Go to Germany around Ramstein AFB. You can pick out all of the military guys in a crowd in Heidelberg, Frankfurt, tour boats, etc. Same around any US base.