The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old June 14, 2017, 11:58 AM   #1
Wyosmith

9.3X57 Mauser

Hello to all.
Who here has hunting and killed game with a 9.3X57 Mauser Cartridge?

I am looking for information and stories about the performance of the cartridge on game and details of the shot angles, range, and bullet used, velocity (barrel length may help)wound channels and bone broken and so on.

I am hoping to make one for myself this year along with a 9.3X62 I am making now. I have made a few for friends and customers and I hear good things, but I would love to hear more 1st hand accounts.

I own and have used a 9.3X74R in my Ruger #1 quite a lot, so I have some experience with the it. I will assume I will see nothing much different from the 9.3X62.
But storied about the use of the 9.3X57 are rare in the USA. The 9.3MM cartridge seem to be gaining popularity in Wyoming, Idaho ad Montana these days.
Please,,,,,do tell.
Old June 15, 2017, 01:31 AM   #2
Scorch

Not a 9.3, but I used to shoot a 9X57. Worked very well on deer and pigs (that's all I ever killed with it). Kind of like shooting a 358 Win or a 35 Winchester, 250 gr bullet at 2300 fps. Like hitting them with a lightning bolt. Very little meat damage.
Old June 15, 2017, 07:36 AM   #3
Mike Irwin
Staff

I've shot a 9.3x57, but I have no experience with how they perform on critters.

I have to wonder, though, why you'd choose to make rifles in two cartridges that are so close in performance?

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old June 15, 2017, 04:36 PM   #4
Wyosmith

Well to answer your question Mike Irwin, just because I like the bullets and the Classic Mauser rifles. I have no "need" at all. In fact, if truth were told I need only 1 center-fire rifle. But so what? That would not be as much fun. Need or "reason" have nothing to do with a love of nice rifles.

I want----------- therefor I need.