The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old October 27, 2020, 10:53 AM   #1
Classic12

Colt SAA or USFA ?

I’ve been staying away from Colt SAA for over 30 years. I guess I was more attracted to more modern semi auto designs and DA revolvers.

However two ads popped up and triggered my curiosity. I’ve always been fairly eclectic and curious when it comes to firearms, I’m always happy to try different guns of all kinds, from the weirdest .22 to the biggest 44/45 such as the AutoMag and Grizzly.

So there’s this Colt SAA 7.5 inches in .357 for sale, very good condition with box, serial nbr SA 31631 made in 1986

And this USFA 7.5 inches in .45 Colt with box, fired only 24 shots according to seller, built 2011 or after

I am not familiar with either obviously.

I think the .45 Colt is truer to this gun, but the .357 Mag ammo is widely available at reasonable prices here, whereas the .45 Colt will be harder to find and pricier

I like all thinks Colt so I’m biased there, but I’ve read that USFA produced nice guns. The colour casing on the Colt seems very nice but so does the deep blueing on the USFA. Both grips are unimpressive

Both are priced similarly, ard $ 1300 or so (and I’m in Switzerland)

What’s everyone thoughts / experience? (And no I won’t get both).

TIA
Old October 27, 2020, 11:07 AM   #2
Jim Watson

Random thoughts:
I think the USFA is every bit as good quality as a Colt but lacks the history.
The company is out of business.

.357 (and .38 Special) ammunition is less expensive than factory .45 Colt.
A .357 SAA is a heavy gun, smaller holes in barrel and cylinder.
Old October 27, 2020, 11:20 AM   #3
MC 1911

USFA for quality, Colt if you want a name.
Old October 27, 2020, 12:37 PM   #4
44 AMP
Staff

I can understand not getting both, but my question is, why get either??