The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old February 4, 2021, 12:41 PM   #1
stagpanther

7mm STW--any thoughts/experience with?

7mm is one of my favorites--but I see very little talk of this cartridge.
Old February 4, 2021, 01:14 PM   #2
Tallest

I have no personal experience with it, but it must be something. I once saw two men nearly come to blows over dibs on used one at the DE Cabela's. It was a "custom" stainless model, felt like it was about 6 lbs. It had a green Bells and Carlson stock, Mauser type action, and loooonnng fluted barrel. Price tag was $2799. They started there with a bidding war over who would walk out with it. I think the (very patient) old gent running the gun library that day was considering using it to paddle them both.

But if I ever wanted a 7mm/.284 faster than my 280AI, I would probably go STW. It has a certain, vintage authority over all other 7mms.

"All men are ignorant. The topics of our ignorance may vary, but the nature of the world is that no man may know everything." ~ R Jordan
Old February 4, 2021, 02:33 PM   #3
stagpanther

Quote:
But if I ever wanted a 7mm/.284 faster than my 280AI, I would probably go STW. It has a certain, vintage authority over all other 7mms.
What I like is that gets way up there in velocity but apparently is not the barrel burner that similar high-power 7's are--plus the parent case is the 8mm Rem Mag but can apparently also be sized from 300 Weatherby (otherwise the cases, if you can find them, are outrageously expensive!!).
Old February 4, 2021, 03:18 PM   #4
Bart B.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stagpanther View Post
What I like is that gets way up there in velocity but apparently is not the barrel burner that similar high-power 7's !!).
The 7mm STW burns more powder than any other 28 caliber cartridge so it wears out barrels faster. 700 rounds is about all it'll give best accuracy.
Old February 4, 2021, 03:24 PM   #5