The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old June 16, 2002, 05:45 AM   #1
cpileri

Location: Peoples Republik of Maryland, Sister State to Kalifornia
Sten parts kits?

Hello, I am new to Full Auto (not TFL, tho): I dont own a buzzgun (darn) but have a question you may be able to answer:

What's the difference between Sten Mark II and III?

reason I ask: I see parts kits all over the place for both. The Mark III's are like 30 bucks, the II's are around 150 !
Why the big difference in price?
Is it just collectability? rarity? some improvement in design? I dunno???

Also, why do all the ads say "all NFA rules apply" if they are sliced up and non-functional when assembled?

And, finally: which parts are they missing? (i.e. which parts would I need a dummy for to make it look good enough to display?)

thanks 1,000,000
C-
Old June 16, 2002, 07:35 AM   #2
ACP230

The Mark IIIs have a receiver tube that is longer than the one ont a Mark II. There are more transferrable Mark IIs around, so the parts for them are more in demand. I've read that Mark IIs are easier for those with a Manufacturer's License to make into post samples. I guess some of the parts interchange between the models and some don't.
Some kits I've seen advertised come with mags, some don't. All have the receivers torch cut in enough places to make them "parts" rather than guns.
HTH.
Old June 16, 2002, 10:52 AM   #3
Riss

Anyhow, the MkII has a threaded removeable barrel that the MK3 does not. Different methods of welding them together from what I hear. If you make a display gun ,per BATF, you are to weld the barrel to the frame and weld it shut, also weld the bolt (firing pin) to make it non useable. They dont want us to have one that could easily be converted into a functioning gun. They require it be a permanent disablement of the parts kit.
Old June 17, 2002, 10:56 AM   #4
SDC