The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old September 30, 2019, 05:19 PM   #1
Mainah

Castle Doctrine, Someone Else's Castle

This story has some interesting implications, can you claim the Castle Doctrine if you walk into the wrong castle: https://www.nationalreview.com/news/...trine-defense/

Personally I'd say that no one deserves to be shot for being at home and that the shooter should be responsible for the horrible outcomes of their mistake.
Old September 30, 2019, 06:35 PM   #2
cjwils

I am not an expert and not a lawyer, but castle doctrine in this case is total BS. There is no doubt that the cop was in the wrong place. If the deceased had a gun in his hand and killed the cop, that would be a better application of castle doctrine, in my opinion. Could castle doctrine possibly apply to both sides in this case? I don't think so.
Old September 30, 2019, 06:47 PM   #3
Bartholomew Roberts

You can claim Castle Doctrine in this situation. Can you win with it? I know which way I’d bet.
Old September 30, 2019, 08:42 PM   #4
raimius

I doubt arguing the Castle Doctrine would work when you kill someone in their "castle" after you illegally entered!
Old October 1, 2019, 01:17 AM   #5
44 AMP
Staff

Despite the widely held misconception that castle doctrine is a license to shoot just because they are in your house (or other place you can legally be) it's not.

It is a protection from prosecution (generally civil) based on the argument that you had a duty to retreat, therefore the shooting cannot be justified.

Allowing the defense to use the argument of castle doctrine does NOT mean the shooting was justified, it just means the defense can make the argument that the defendant thought she was justified, or something similar.