The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 11, 2009, 06:35 AM   #1
Dr Killdeer

Factory Crimp Die feedback

Recently, I bought the Lee factory crimp die for the 06. I’m loading for a BAR, so I decided on a firm crimp. The pills I’m loading (Nosler) have no cannelure, but this die seems to make the crimping process goof proof. Since I’m new at this, I want to make sure I’m not praying to a golden calf. So, if anybody has feedback on the factory crimp die, good or bad, I’d like to hear it.
Old September 11, 2009, 07:51 AM   #2
SL1

Although Lee says otherwise, there have been some tests that show accuracy decreases some when you use the (rifle cartridge version of the) FCD on bullets that do not have a crimping groove. If you pull the bullet from a round after you crimp it, you will see not only a circumferential groove around the bullet, but two slight circumferential raised rings above and below the groove, where the metal from the groove was moved to. Apparently, those rings can alter the bullet's alignment with the chamber throat enough deteriorate accuracy at the target.

Because you said you are new at this, I will point out that there are TWO designs of Lee's FCDs. The one you have is for bottleneck rifle cartridges, and it has an internal collet that squeezes the case mouth inward only at a point where the crimp goes when the press ram is at the top of its stroke. The other design is for straight-walled cases, primarily pistol cases. It does not have an internal collet at all, but has a sliding collar inside that guides the case mouth into a conical section that makes a crimp pretty much like any other crimping die. The thing that makes this version of the Lee FCD unique is a carbide ring in its base that squeezes any bulges in the case back to SAAMI maximum spec when the ram is lowered and the case is drawn out of the die.