The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old November 12, 2017, 03:50 PM   #1
sixgunnin

(off topic) Recoil To Bullet Speed?

I have been thinking about long range shooting and got to wondering. Could how solidly you hold a rifle effect the bullet speed and drop? How much higher velocity's could be achieved firing with the butt of a rifle against something solid vs holding it loosely? Would it make much difference? Or any?
Old November 12, 2017, 04:11 PM   #2
RIDE-RED 350r

I am no expert ballistician, but I would say the difference would be at most negligible.
Old November 12, 2017, 04:39 PM   #3
hdwhit

Quote:
sixgunnin wrote:
Could how solidly you hold a rifle effect the bullet speed and drop?
Yes.

Quote:
How much higher velocity's could be achieved firing with the butt of a rifle against something solid vs holding it loosely?
Assume your "loose" hold allows the gun to recoil at 5 feet per second (fps) and that holding it against something solid reduced that to zero, you would pick up 5 fps in velocity.

Since 5 fps is within the likely standard deviation of the ammunition (either factory or hand loaded), the overall effect on the shooter would likely not be noticeable.
Old November 12, 2017, 04:53 PM   #4
RKG

Quote:
Assume your "loose" hold allows the gun to recoil at 5 feet per second (fps) and that holding it against something solid reduced that to zero, you would pick up 5 fps in velocity.
I am not aware of any empirical studies on this point -- or any detailed analyses -- for the simple reason that it is likely of no practical utility. However, I believe the quoted response is likely not correct.

Muzzle velocity of a rifle bullet is fixed at the moment the slug exits the muzzle (at which time it is no longer influenced by combustion chamber pressure).