The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 6, 2010, 06:50 PM   #1
Sphawley

Shotgun shells

Can you reload shotgun shells? And if you can is it worth it?

I'm new to reloading so this could sound kinda stupid...

Thanks
Old July 6, 2010, 06:54 PM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

Yes, you can. It is almost never worth it. The price of bulk shells is so low, and the cost of equipment is so high that the margin requires you shoot ALOT. I mean, A-L-O-T.
Old July 6, 2010, 08:13 PM   #3
rms2005

with shells being $6+ for the cheapo 12ga, yea it saves me a good chunk of change plus much better patterns not to mention satisfaction of busting clays or birds with "your" shells and if you enjoy sitting at the reloading bench even better. broke down real quick it is around $75 to reload 400'ish shells(if you have saved your hulls) and that is buying small quantity. If you purchase bulk you can knock even more off the top. if you dont shoot a whole lot a single stage mec 600 jr or such can be had used for $60'ish.
Old July 6, 2010, 08:31 PM   #4
DaveTrig

I had the same question a few months ago.

I don't usually, but I gotta disagree with the peetzaman. The cheapest I can find shells is at Wal-Mart, and it's still $6+/box for Winchester cheap-o. I am reloading for about $4.25/box. It's not a huge savings, but it adds up.

Plus, I load exactly what I want. I like to shoot 1oz of 7-1/2, and vary speeds from 1200-1280fps, and you just can't find that in the cheap stuff. My loads are more comparable to $7-8/box ammo.

As for equipment, it's not expensive at all. I found a MEC 600jr with a couple of charge bars, bushings, shell packer, and primer feeder on eBay for only $90, and I can crank out about 100-125/hour. It certainly doesn't match the speed of a progressive, but whenever I have an hour to kill I just go down and knock out 4-5 boxes.

Hope this helps -
- D