The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old December 9, 2017, 11:46 AM   #1
USAF Ret

Hunting Rifle and Caliber - Disabled

My first time posting here. I am a disabled vet with back and shoulder injuries so I am a bit recoil sensitive. I got back into shooting this year. I bought a heavy barrel HOWA 308 and installed a muzzle brake on it. It is a literal pleasure to shoot, but not at all practical for anything besides bench shooting and the apocalypse.
I am looking at getting one all-around hunting rifle. If I was hunting deer in the SE, I could easily just go with a .243. However my son moved to CO and would like to go out and elk or mule deer hunt with him sometime.
I have been doing a lot of research on what is the smallest caliber I can use and still be ethical. I have seen the 7mm-08 has good ballistics out to 300 yards which is about my comfortable max range and has mild recoil. I would like to get a rifle that has a good balance of weight as well. Light enough to carry without issues but heavy enough to keep recoil down. Was looking at the Weatherby Vangaurd S2 and the Savage 116.

Just looking for general thoughts from folks with experience. Thanks.
Old December 9, 2017, 12:09 PM   #2
Striker1

Check out the 6.5 Creedmoor

Your ability to put up with recoil is going to be highly subjective, only you can determine what works for you. Considering that a smaller caliber with a heavier rifle typically offers the lowest recoil, you'll probably have to play around in those areas Stock design can play a part as well but if you change either of those two it will kick harder.

Last edited by Striker1; December 9, 2017 at 12:25 PM.
Old December 9, 2017, 12:31 PM   #3
jmr40

A 7-08 has about 1 ft lb less recoil than 308. The difference at 500 yards is 1" less drop and about 30 ft more energy in favor of 7-08. The 2 are ballistic twins, but 308 ammo is a lot cheaper and easier to find.