The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 25, 2017, 05:43 PM   #1
SAA GunSlinger

Lubricating round balls?

Hello, I'm new to the world of casting bullets. I had some old conical buffalo company conical bullets that I melted down and turned into .454 round ball. I followed the instructions. Took me a few trys to get the temperature right cause I had some that frosted and wrinkled but now I have a nice amount of shiny 44.cal balls but do I lube them? Ive watched youtube videos and read in books after there casted and nothing seems to follow. What next? Do I need to lube them? What are my next steps to get them ready for shooting? Gonna be shooting them through a pair of uberti walkers.

Last edited by SAA GunSlinger; November 25, 2017 at 05:51 PM.
Old November 25, 2017, 05:59 PM   #2
Model12Win

No I've never heard of that.

Either use a lubed felt wad betwixt powder n' ball, or smear lube atop powder and ball.
Old November 25, 2017, 10:27 PM   #3
bedbugbilly

+ 1 ^ ^ ^ ^ ^
If a pair of '51 Navies were good enough for Billy Hickok, then a single Navy on my right hip is good enough for me . . . besides . . . I'm probably only half as good as he was anyways. Hiram's Rangers Badge #63
Old November 25, 2017, 11:09 PM   #4
Hawg

What they said and nothing wrong with frosted balls. Or wrinkly ones for that matter. They shoot just as good as smooth, shiny ones.
Old November 26, 2017, 04:30 PM   #5
Seamus Mc

In a rifle or muzzle loading pistol round ball shooters use a patch which is typically lubed. In a revolver you can add a lubed wad like a Wonder Wad or else add lube between the ball and an over powder card wad.

Seamus
Old November 27, 2017, 10:13 AM   #6
ButchB

I load the ball on top of powder then use a little butter knife to fill the balance of the chamber with lube. I can get about 20 shots before I need to clean and relube the base pin.
Old November 27, 2017, 10:58 AM   #7