The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old January 1, 2019, 02:19 AM   #1
PushPuller

New production M1 Carbine

Hi everybody. Ever since I was little I've liked M1 carbines. Several family members carried one in the service throughout the 40s and 50s and I've always been intrigued by them. Fairly recently I saw that Kahr is making several versions under the Auto-Ordnance name as new productions. I haven't been able to find many reviews that shed positive light on the M1 carbine but all the bad reviews seem to be issues that go back to its original production and isn't necessarily a new problem.

Unfortunately I don't have access to an original or a repro M1 carbine to compare, and to be honest I have zero experience with one physically. Do any of you have experience or opinions to offer about the new M1 carbines?

I always hear online that these guns have never been reliable, but obviously they were at least reliable enough at some point in time. What is the definition of a reliable m1?

I don't really have a purpose for this potential addition other than its a rifle that is under the pressure limits for my local indoor range.
Old January 1, 2019, 02:48 AM   #2
tangolima

It is all hearsay. Early production was cheap but lousy. Recent production has been decent, but cheap it is no more.

I myself thought of getting a new one. But after comparing prices, I ended up buying an used IBM. No regret at all. The new one costs more and has zero history.

-TL

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Old January 1, 2019, 09:52 AM   #3
PushPuller

Quote:
I myself thought of getting a new one. But after comparing prices, I ended up buying an used IBM. No regret at all. The new one costs more and has zero history.

What kind of reliability issues have you experienced if any?
Old January 1, 2019, 12:00 PM   #4
COSteve