The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 14, 2018, 10:30 AM   #1
mrdaputer

Any one using Titegroup with 44 magnum?

Last week I picked up a S&W 629 classic. I have a lot of Titegroup on hand and was wondering if any one used it for 44-240 RNFP? Also what your thoughts were.
Old August 14, 2018, 12:07 PM   #2
Sevens

I have a lot of experience with it and I'm going to give you a double answer.

Yes, it's a fine powder in .44 Magnum just as long as you absolutely, positively understand and accept that you should build NOTHING beyond light target loads. How light? Well my favorite Titegroup load in .44 Mag uses a 240gr LSWC and sends it at 870fps from my 7.5" barreled Redhawk. Titegroup is not at all sensitive to space or position, which makes it work very well for light loads in huge cases.

It is a bad, and I mean BAD idea to try and use Titegroup for full magnum loads in .44 Magnum, or any high pressure magnum revolver. Titegroup is one of the fastest burning powders on the market and it peaks way too early to make proper magnum loads.

If you build loads even to published max with Titegroup in magnum revolvers, the net result is a load that doesn't sound or feel or recoil or act like a full magnum load, and it will not give you velocity like a full magnum load.

However... it will give you all the peak pressure of a full load, at the wrong time.

If your end goal is to destroy a firearm with an overload, Titegroup may be one of the best powders available. This is because it burns extremely fast and it's very dense. There is usually enough space to triple a safe load. In that way, Titegroup MUST be respected and not abused.
Old August 14, 2018, 01:06 PM   #3
mrdaputer

Thank you for the reply I too error on the side of caution. I check about 1 of 10 for my 9mm and 40 which I run in the middle of the recommended load. I eye up every case right after it gets loaded.