The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 17, 2007, 03:34 PM   #1
.17HMR

Handloading Rimfire Ammuntion?

Let me start of by saying that I have never tried handloading/reloading ammo before, but I'm interested in learning about the process and maybe trying it.

I recently got a .17hmr for target/varmint shooting and have been wondering about the possibilities of handloading ammo for it, but since it's rimfire, I was wondering if you can even do that? I know reloading isn't a possibility because of this, but can you buy shells that are already primed and load yourself? If anyone knows whether or not you can do this, or if anyone has done it, please let me know.

Thanks
Old July 17, 2007, 03:57 PM   #2
2rugers

Sorry, but you cannot reload rimfire ammo.

There is no primer to punch and replace.
Old July 17, 2007, 04:36 PM   #3
Unclenick
Staff

I think he got that. He wants to know if empty primed cases for one-time-use are available to load, and the answer to that is no, also.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old July 17, 2007, 04:59 PM   #4
Tanzer

Even if it were, I doubt it would be cost effective.
Old July 17, 2007, 08:19 PM   #5
Trapper L

Sorry guys, but yes you can reload rimfire. I have a friend in Fredricksburg Texas that reloads his match rimfire ammo. I have watched it being done. It's not something I would do. Priming is a liquid encounter that I prefer to avoid. The normal powders don't work and finding components is always an issue for him. But it can be done.
Old July 17, 2007, 09:35 PM   #6
crowbeaner