The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Closed Thread

Old March 5, 2018, 01:16 PM   #1
patriotthad

"Accidental discharge"

Can anyone direct me to stats for A.D.'s? I am wanting percentages while loading/unloading, holstering/unholstering etc.
Old March 5, 2018, 01:25 PM   #2
Sevens

Percentages...?
How would that be possible, seriously?

I have been handling firearms for 30 years and have never had an AD/ND. But you can't add my numbers to any "percentages" unless we figure out how many times I have actually handled firearms. Carrying concealed just 10 years.

While I agree that what you seek would be interesting and useful...
--HOW-- would anyone ever get quality stats on this?
Old March 5, 2018, 01:42 PM   #3
Bartholomew Roberts

The CDC’s WISQARS tool tracks accidental firearms injuries (based on reporting to the hospital). That’s probably the closest you get to any specific numbers on firearms accidents.

(In 2015, 17,311 non-fatal accidental gunshot injuries (does not include BB/pellet injuries which are tracked in a separate category but occur mainly to those under 24yrs of agr.)
Old March 5, 2018, 01:46 PM   #4
DaleA

Do the military or do the police keep track of accidental/negligent discharges while on duty? (I don't know.)

There's no way they could know about problems when their members are not on duty. Likewise I think the margin of error, that is the number of problems in the civilian sector NOT reported would be so high to make any number you could come up with by tracking 'reported' problems worthless.
Old March 5, 2018, 01:51 PM   #5
patriotthad

What I was wanting was 70% of A.D.s occur while holstering etc. I am putting together a firearms safety class and just wanted some numbers ammo.
Old March 5, 2018, 01:54 PM   #6
RickB

Nobody would have any figures other than for themselves.