The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 26, 2002, 11:12 AM   #1
six 4 sure

Questions about 45 long colt

I have a few questions for those of you that are far more knowledgeable than I. I purchased a Blackhawk in 45LC a couple of weeks ago. It is my understanding that the Blackhawk will handle “hot” reloads, can the same be said of the Vaquero? Some time in the future I’d like to get a second SA in 45 colt, but I want to be able to shoot the same loads through both without fear of something bad happening.

I’m new to reloading and wondered if there was any special items I should pick up for reloading the 45 colt? I did purchase the Redding profile crimp die, as per several suggestions in posts that I found. Is there anything else I need above and beyond normal reloading equipment?

What is a good source of hard cast lead bullets? Is there someone that makes cheap plinking bullets?

I purchased a box of 500 new Winchester brass from Midway. I hoping this will take care of me for awhile. But, if I buy more in the future, is there a different brand that you would recommend?

Thanks for the help.

Six
Old April 26, 2002, 11:33 AM   #2
Mal H
Staff

The Vaquero will handle hot loads similar to the Blackhawk. I think Mike Irwin still has a mark on his palm to prove that the Vaquero can handle hot loads.

To quote from Speer in the "45 Colt for Ruger & Contender Only" section:
Quote:
These loads are intended for use only in Ruger Blackhawk and Vaquero revolvers, and the Thompson/Center Contender. They are not to be used in any other make or model of firearm.
You won't need any special items I can think of other than a good quality roll crimp die set and it sounds like you've already sprung for the best.