The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old July 5, 2007, 04:10 AM   #1
ump45

Newbie Questions about Integral Suppressors

I'm going to be using this to introduce firearms to my daughter since she is VERY sensitive to loud noises. I want her to have a positive first impression of shooting.

I decided on an integral suppressor because this pistol is going to be dedicated for the purpose of suppressed shooting. I will probably end up getting a Can later for my other weapons.

I apologize in advance if my questions don't make sense. I'm still learning and I probably have used incorrect terminology.

1. What is the best all-round integral suppressor to get for a Ruger 22/45?

2. Does an integrally suppressed 22/45 use the factory front sights or do they get replaced as the barrel is lengthened?

3. What is a bull barrel? If I'm going to get it integrally suppressed, does it make sense to get the 22/45 model that comes with a bull barrel?

4. How do you clean an integral suppressor?

5. Exactly which parts get replaced on the pistol when you add an integral suppressor?
Old July 5, 2007, 01:22 PM   #2
Legion2600

Check out Gemtechs Oasis. It is an integral upper that you just slide onto the grip/trigger assembly of your 22/45 or MK2/3. Iv'e heard lots of good things about them and is supposed to be very light. The downside of course to any integral 22 is they are dirty and you cant take it apart for cleaning. The exception to this is SRT's integral MK3. Which last time I checked you could clean the expansion chamber but not the baffles.

http://www.gem-tech.com/twenty2.html
Old July 5, 2007, 10:28 PM   #3
MGRacer

Quote:
I'm going to be using this to introduce firearms to my daughter since she is VERY sensitive to loud noises. I want her to have a positive first impression of shooting.